The job

In France, investigator of provide law – ARP – is a legal job under regulation and, by this fact must be approved by Prefecture.

The Investigator of Private law, or the Agent of Private Researches, - ARP - or even formerly "detective", is " proxy research for proofs and for information for the prevention or the repair of a damage ". He has a mission of information, advice, assistance, inquiry and researches with his customers.

At the request of physical or moral persons, the Investigator of Private law proceeds to investigations to look for elements of proofs and information with the aim of the appearance of the truth for the defence of justifiable, legal and moral causes.

He resolves problems said " about general interests (general purposes) " to treat interventions relating to the management of companies or to the civil affairs, what has nothing to do with the missions of the National police force or the Local police.

The ARP being forced, in the point of view skills, to no territorial limit, he can intervene with efficiency so on the national level as international. He can accept or refuse a mission without being obliged to justify itself.

His knowledge offers the possibility for the citizen, to activate a pushed inquiry, to look for persons, to fight against the industrial espionage, to lead counter inquiries.

As a general rule, the private investigator acts every time a citizen or a company estimates to undergo a damage.

He necessarily has to lean on three fundamental and inseparable criteria, the legitimacy, the legality and the morality of the causes to be defended. The ARP intervenes in complementarily of the administrative public utilities, the lawyers and the members of legal profession, to protect the rights and the justifiable interests of the citizen in its personal or professional life.

At the end of each mission, he drafts a detailed and elaborate report form. This document is acceptable in justice in front of any court and jurisdiction as constituent element of proof (the first jurisdiction to have accepted the report of a detective was the county court of Nimes, in 1959).

His interventions are done according articles 1984 to 2010 of the French civil code for the prevention or the repair of damage.

In France, the professional secret is situated in the crossroads of two notions:

  • Protection of the private life of the individual;
  • Protection of the democratic law and order.

Missions of the private investigator enter into the definition given by the article 226-13 of the New French Penal code, he is thus subjected to the professional secret.

Private detective | Companies | Individual | Deontology | Our reports form | The job | Press release | Our links | Contact us | Term and conditions | Directories

Le métier

La profession d’Agent de recherches privées (détective) est une profession réglementée et de ce fait doit avoir un agrément Préfectoral ou du conseil national des activités privées de sécurité (CNAPS - Ministère de l'Intérieur)

L'Agent de Recherches Privées - ARP - ou encore anciennement "détective", est "mandataire en recherche de preuves et d'informations pour la prévention ou la réparation d'un préjudice". Il a une mission d'information, de conseil, d'assistance, d'enquête et de recherches auprès de ses clients.

A la demande de personnes physiques ou morales, l'enquêteur privé procède à des investigations pour rechercher des éléments de preuves et d'informations en vue de la manifestation de la vérité pour la défense de causes légitimes, légales et morales dans le cadre d'une procédure judiciaire.

Il résout des problèmes dits « d'intérêts généraux » pour traiter des interventions se rapportant à la gestion des entreprises ou aux affaires privées , ce qui n'a rien à voir avec les missions de la Police Nationale ou de la Police Municipale.

L'ARP n'étant astreint, au point de vue compétences, à aucune limite territoriale, il peut intervenir avec efficacité tant sur le plan national qu'international. Il peut accepter ou refuser une mission sans être obligé de se justifier.

Son savoir faire offre la possibilité pour le citoyen, de déclencher une enquête poussée, de rechercher des personnes, de lutter contre l'espionnage industriel, de mener des contres enquêtes.

En règle générale, l'enquêteur privé intervient chaque fois qu'un citoyen ou une entreprise estime subir un préjudice.

Il doit obligatoirement s'appuyer sur trois critères fondamentaux et indissociables, la légitimité, la légalité et la moralité des causes à défendre.

L'ARP intervient en complémentarité des services publics administratifs, des avocats et des officiers ministériels, pour sauvegarder les droits et les intérets légitimes du citoyen dans sa vie personnelle ou professionnelle.

A la fin de chaque mission, il rédige un rapport détaillé et circonstancié. Ce document est recevable en justice devant tout tribunal et juridiction comme élément constitutif de preuve (la première juridiction à avoir accepté le rapport d'un détective fut le tribunal de grande instance de Nîmes, en 1959).

Ses interventions s'effectuent selon les dispositions des articles 1984 à 2010 du code civil pour la prévention ou la réparation d'un préjudice.

En France, le secret professionnel se situe au carrefour de deux notions :

  • la protection de la vie privée de l'individu
  • la protection de l'ordre public démocratique

Les missions de l'enquêteur privé entrent dans la définition donnée par l'article 226-13 du Code Pénal, il est donc soumis au secret professionnel.

Détective privé | Entreprises | Particuliers | Déontologie | Rapports | Le métier | Presse | Liens | Contact | Mentions légales | Annuaires